Gàidhlig / English

Current Team

Roibeard Ò Maolalaigh

Professor Roibeard Ó Maolalaigh

Rob(by) is originally from Dublin where he studied as an undergraduate and postgraduate at University College Dublin. He graduated with a PhD in Celtic Studies from the University of Edinburgh. He has worked at University College Dublin, the University of Edinburgh and the School of Celtic Studies, Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies, where he was Assistant Professor. He has worked as Professor of Gaelic at the University of Glasgow since January 2005 and was appointed to the established Chair of Gaelic in April 2010. He set up the project Digital Archive of Scottish Gaelic in 2006 and Corpas na Gàidhlig in 2008. Other digital projects in which he has been involved include Bibliography of Irish Linguistics and Literature and People of Medieval Scotland 1093–1314. Visit his page here.

  • Stephen Barrett

    Stephen Barrett
    Research Systems Developer

    Stevie is responsible for creating and maintaining DASG's web applications. He has 18 years experience as a developer and has created sites and systems for a wide range of organisations including The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Glasgow Housing Authority, and Deutsche Bank.

  • Tòmas MacAilpein

    Dr Tòmas MacAilpein
    Senior Corpus and Audio Archive Assistant

    Tòmas was brought up in Renfrewshire and the Black Isle. He studied Gaelic at Sabhal Mòr Ostaig, and then carried out postgraduate research in History at the University of Glasgow. He started at DASG in December 2016 where he is working on digitising the periodical, Gairm.

  • Calum Ross

    Calum Ross
    Corpus Assistant

    Calum hails from the south of Aberdeen where he was born and raised. He was a student at Sabhal Mòr Ostaig where he received a degree with honours in Gaelic and Traditional Music in 2017. Calum’s main interest is based in Gaelic dialects and their unique features. He often attends traditional music sessions in Glasgow and Edinburgh.

Past Staff

  • Niall Bartlett
  • Shelagh Campbell
  • Garry Cooke
  • Eilidh Cormack
  • Euan Dickson
  • Andrew Dunn
  • Wojtek Dziejma
  • Ali Forbes
  • Kerr Gibb
  • Kate Langhorne
  • Abi Lightbody
  • Dr Aonghas MacCoinnich
  • Ian MacDonald
  • Alana MacInnes
  • Ruaraidh MacIntyre
  • Calum MacLeod
  • Linda MacLeod
  • James MacParland
  • Dr Mark McConville
  • Fraser McRobert
  • Shona Masson
  • Cailean Masterson
  • Susanna Naismith
  • Rosaidh Phillips
  • Ealasaid Pyper
  • Mairead Roberts
  • Daibhidh Robinson
  • Caitlin Russell
  • Katie Seal
  • Olga Szczesnowicz
  • Edit Wenelius
  • Dr Alasdair Whyte
  • Dr Anndra Wiseman
  • Eleanor Wood